ORLANDO, Fla. (AP) — Records show that more Florida college students are paying double for excess credit hours.

The fees are usually paid by students who change majors and end up surpassing the hours needed for a degree. Those who earn excessive credits while seeking double majors must pay the fee upfront and then get reimbursed after graduation.

According to an Orlando Sentinel (http://tinyurl.com/hsex39s) analysis of school records, about 3,770 students were charged about $2.35 million in excess credit-hour surcharges during the fall 2015 semester at the University of Central Florida, University of Florida, Florida State and South Florida. The compares to one year earlier when roughly 1,760 students paid about $851,120 in penalties at the four schools.

The surcharges are required under a 2009 state law and university officials say they’re advising them on how to avoid paying the penalty.


Information from: Orlando Sentinel, http://www.orlandosentinel.com/

Copyright 2024 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Join our Newsletter for the latest news right to your inbox