Miami-Dade mayoral election results announced

(WSVN) - The results for the Miami-Dade mayoral elections were announced, Tuesday evening.

In Miami Beach, Dan Gelber was elected mayor with about 82 percent of the city’s total votes.

Gelber’s victory was made a bit easier by the recent departure of former commissioner Michael Greico, who abandoned his mayoral bid.

Gelber will succeed Phillip Levine, who is running for Florida Governor.

The Magic City also has a new mayor: Commissioner Francis X. Suarez was elected mayor of the City of Miami with almost 86 percent of the city’s total votes.

Suarez will succeed Tomas Regalado, who couldn’t run again because of term limits.

Suarez’s father, a county commissioner, was also once Miami’s Mayor in the late ’80s and early ’90s.

In Hialeah, Carlos Hernandez was elected mayor with about 79 percent of the total votes.

Copyright 2019 Sunbeam Television Corp. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.